The Internal Structure of Earth(Geography)

The earth is a large mass that revolves around the sun and within we live.

The structure of the earth is divided into four major components: the crust, the mantle, the outer core, and the inner core. Each layer has a unique chemical composition, physical state, and can impact life on Earth’s surface. The four layers of earth are described below on the basis of their physical state and chemical composition:

Internal Structure of Earth


The crust is the outermost layer of earth and sometimes it is also referred to as the lithosphere. It consists of oceanic crust and continental crust. It is made up of solid rock and is up to 5-75 KM thick.

It constitutes in a very small amount <1% in the composition of earth both by volume and by mass.


The mantle is another layer of earth that is just below the crust. It is up to 2900m thick and consists of hot, dense, iron, and magnesium-rich solid rock. The Mantle is further divided into two parts and the upper part is known as the asthenosphere. The asthenosphere along with crust makes up the lithosphere.

It forms about 83% of the Earth by volume and 67% by mass.


The core is the innermost and the hottest layer of earth. It is further divided into two types: Inner core and outer core. Inner core is solid while the outer core can is liquid in nature. The outer core can have a temperature reaching upto 50,000 degrees.

It constitute about 17% of the volume and 33% of the mass of the Earth.

Internal Structure of earth
Earths Structure

Composition of Earth Internal Structure

Composition of Crust

Sial: Silicon and Aluminum (Granite to Granodioritic in composition)

Silicon and Magnesium (Basaltic to ultrabasic in composition)

Composition of Mantle

Pyrolite (3 parts of ultramafic rocks and one part of Basalt)

Composition of Crust

It is believed to contain metallic Nickel and Iron is called Nife.

Forestry Bloq
Forestry Bloq
Articles: 40

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *